is a carrier grade equipment for resolving IPv4 addresses lack problem along with maintaining an existing IPv4 infrastructure and smooth migration to IPv6 in the future.

                               

Main functionality

The EcoNAT device supports several types of address translation simultaneously: CGNAT/PAT, Basic NAT, static translation 1:1.

Carrier Grade NAT (CGNAT)

The CGNAT (IETF RFC 6888) which allows to use public IPv4 separately for several users is the main and most modern net-address translation type.

The Full Cone NAT approach is the feature which makes differ between CGNAT and traditional NAT/PAT. This approach provides the maximum transparency for many applications including mobile, P2P, games and others and combines the Endpoint Independent Mapping (EIM) and Endpoint Independent Filtering (EIF) technology usage which allows for any external system to establish user connection via an external TCP/UDP ports what user-initiated source traffic ports are transformed into.

Port Block Allocation (PBA)
The Port Block Allocation (PBA) technology is implemented on EcoNAT devices to decrease an amount of statistic data to be transferred into external system (first of all when integrating with Law Enforcement Support System (LESS)). When using this approach the translation ports are allocated not by one but by continuous blocks. The maximum number of blocks for one user can be configured. In this case only two entries are added to the log for this whole address block — when allocating and when releasing it.

IP pairing
All the user’s connections belonging to the same external pool are translated into the same IP-address for best CGNAT’s transparency.

Basic NAT (BNAT)

In addition to CGNAT the EcoNAT devices support Basic NAT (BNAT)- NAT mode. In this mode a temporary public IPv4 address allocates to user and only addresses are translated (ports remain unchanged). This mode address translating has two variants: transparent one which allows incoming external connections to this address via any ports and closed when external connections can be established only to the ports which user-initiated connection from inside is set on.

Static NAT (1:1)

In addition to CGNAT and BGNAT the EcoNAT devices support static address translation when to each user IP address administratively assigned a constant public IP address. Thus a provider can deliver the «static public IP» service.

Features and benefits

Made in Russia
EcoBras is a Russian product which is approved by Interdepartamental Expert Council’s decision (22.09.2016).

High performance
The performance reaches up to 160 Gb/sec per one rack unit what surpasses foreign analogues.

The new connection establishment speed — 8 million per second with a block logging and 2.5 million per second with an every session logging. Total amount of connections processed is up to 150 million. This is the best result in the industry.

Smart Wire™
The EcoNAT device is transparent for all service type traffic including routing protocols BGP, OSPF, ISIS, STP, LACP, BFD.

Multiple translation type support
The EcoNAT devices support simultaneous operation of various type address translation. It is possible to configure up to 32 simultaneously running NAT-pools of different translation type, public IPv4 address ranges, limits of user connections number and UDP and TCP ports range allocated during translation.

An Access Control Lists (ACL) associated to each pool are criteria for pool selection. ACL are analized in order pool priority. They can incorporate both Source address and Destination address of the IP-packet. This solution can be used in P2P networks with IP-addresses crossing ranges.

The hairpinning mechanism allows users connected via EcoNAT to interact with its the public addresses without sending packets outside.

Application Layer Gateway (ALG)
Modern protocols are designed to work via NAT-systems but some of them (such as FTP, PPTP, RTSP, SIP) require special handling when address translating. In the EcoNAT devices the Application Layer Gateway (ALG) functionality is implemented to support such a handling.

Aging
After long inactivity (the duration depends on pool’s configuration and connection status) idle connections will be closed to release ports. Thus an extra address space economy is achieved due to inactive users.

User quotas
The EcoNAT devices allow to configure separately for each pool the ports number and user connections number limits. Combination of this feature, hot reconfiguration and multiple pool support allows the provider to allocate IPv4 resources between corporate and private clients flexibly.

Translation logging
The EcoNAT devices allow to export an information of all translations and user connections at speeds up to 5 million connections per second.

The EcoNAT devices provide an opportunity of network connections and user translations logging (Local_IP, Local_Port, Global_IP, Global_Port, Destination_IP, Destination_Port, Protocol) by Syslog and Netflow v9 standard interfaces. Using Port Block Allocation Mechanism (PBA) the volume of the exported data is reduced tenfold.

Control
The EcoNAT devices are equipped with a convenient command-line interface (CLI) which allows to configure device’s parameters, work with a structured configuration file and monitor the running system parameters. The allocated network control interface (access via SSH to the device) or console port (RS-232 °C) is used to device access. User identification performs locally or by using TACACS+.

An equipment status information transfers via SNMP protocol (v1/v2c). The Syslog и SNMP Trap protocols are used to export the system and event messages.

Specification

 EcoNAT 2020 / 2040EcoNAT 4080EcoNAT 4120EcoNAT 4160
Throughput 24 / 34 Gbps 60 Gbps 120 Gbps 160 Gbps
Packets Per Second 16.2M 49.5M 64.8M 64.8M
Connection Setups Per Second 2.3M 2.5M 5M 5M
Concurrent Sessions 32 million 40 million 150 million 150 million
Network Interface        
   10 GE Fiber (SFP+) 2 / 4 8 12 16
   1GE Copper 4 - - -
Logging Interface 2 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT
Management Interface 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT
Console Port RJ45 (RS232C) RJ45 (RS232C) RJ45 (RS232C) RJ45 (RS232C)
System Storage CF Industrial SLC CF Industrial SLC CF Industrial SLC CF Industrial SLC
Power Consumption Typical/Max 140W/170W 250W/285W 340W/400W 340W/400W
Power Supply 200W ATX (RPS optional) Dual 500W RPS Dual 500W RPS Dual 500W RPS
  100-240 VAC (-36-72 DC) 100-240 VAC (-40-72 DC) 100-240 VAC (-40-72 DC) 100-240 VAC (-40-72 DC)
Cooling Fan Standard Fans Hot Swap Smart Fans Hot Swap Smart Fans Hot Swap Smart Fans
Dimensions 430mm x 400mm x 44mm 440mm x 576mm x 44mm 440mm x 576mm x 44mm 440mm x 576mm x 44mm
Rack Unit (Mountable) 1U 1U 1U 1U

Documents

EcoNAT — ориентированный на операторов продукт, способный решить вопрос нехватки адресов IPv4 при сохранении существующей IPv4 инфраструктуры и в перспективе плавной миграции на IPv6.

                               

Основная функциональность

EcoNAT поддерживает различные типы преобразования адресов одновременно: CG-NAT/PAT, Basic NAT, статическую трансляцию 1:1.

Carrier Grade NAT (CG-NAT)

Основным и наиболее современным видом трансляции сетевых адресов является CG-NAT (IETF RFC 6888), позволяющий разделять использование публичного IPv4 адреса между несколькими абонентами.

Главной особенностью CG-NAT является Full Cone NAT — подход, который сочетает применение технологий Endpoint Independent Mapping (EIM) и Endpoint Independent Filtering (EIF). Любые внешние системы могут устанавливать соединения с абонентом по тем внешним портам TCP/UDP, в которые преобразованы порты источника трафика, ранее инициированного самим абонентом. Благодаря Full Cone NAT решение выгодно отличается от традиционных видов NAT/PAT и обеспечивает максимальную прозрачность CG-NAT для различных приложений, в том числе мобильных, P2P, игр и др.

Port Block Allocation (PBA)
Для уменьшения количества статистических данных, которые необходимо передавать во внешние системы (прежде всего, при интеграции с системами СОРМ), на устройствах EcoNAT используется технология Port Block Allocation (PBA). При применении этого подхода порты для трансляции абонентам выделяются не по одному, а непрерывными блоками. Максимальное количество блоков для одного абонента регулируется. В этом случае для всего блока портов добавляются лишь две записи в лог: при выделении блока портов и при высвобождении этого блока.

IP pairing
Для обеспечения наилучшей прозрачности CG-NAT все соединения абонента, относящиеся к одному внешнему пулу, транслируются в один и тот же IP-адрес.

Basic NAT (BNAT)

Помимо CG-NAT, устройства EcoNAT поддерживают режим Basic NAT (BNAT) — NAT режим, при котором абоненту на время работы выделяется временный публичный IPv4 адрес и транслируются только адреса (порты остаются неизменными). У этого режима преобразования адресов есть два варианта: прозрачный, разрешающий входящие внешние соединения к данному адресу по любым портам; и закрытый, допускающий соединения извне лишь к портам, соединения с которых инициированы изнутри абонентом.

Static NAT (1:1)

В дополнение к CG-NAT и BNAT возможен вариант трансляции адресов, при котором за каждым абонентским IP-адресом административно закреплен публичный IP-адрес. Таким образом оператор может реализовать предоставление услуги «статический публичный IP».

Преимущества и особенности

Российский продукт
EcoNAT является российским продуктом, что официально подтверждено решением межведомственного экспертного совета (МЭС).

Высокая производительность
Производительность решения достигает 160 Гбит/сек на один rack unit, что превосходит зарубежные аналоги.

Скорость создания новых соединений — 8 млн/сек с блочным логированием или 2,5 млн/сек с логированием каждой сессии. Общее число обрабатываемых соединений достигает 150 миллионов. Это лучший результат в отрасли.

Smart Wire™
Устройство EcoNAT прозрачно для всех видов служебного трафика, в том числе, протоколов маршрутизации BGP, OSPF, ISIS, STP, LACP, BFD.

Поддержка множества типов трансляции
Устройства EcoNAT поддерживают одновременную работу различных типов преобразования адресов. При этом возможна настройка до 32 одновременно работающих NAT-пулов, которые могут отличаться типом трансляции, диапазонами публичных IPv4 адресов, лимитами числа соединений для абонентов и диапазонами выделяемых при трансляции портов UDP и TCP.

Критерием для выбора пула являются Access Control Lists (ACL), связанные с каждым пулом. ACL анализируются в порядке приоритетов пулов и могут включать в себя как Source адрес, так и Destination адрес IP-пакета. Данное решение может использоваться для участия в пиринговых сетях с пересекающимися диапазонами IP-адресов.

Механизм hairpinning позволяет абонентам, подключенным через EcoNAT, взаимодействовать с публичными адресами друг друга, не посылая пакеты за пределы устройства.

Application Layer Gateway (ALG)
Современные протоколы разрабатываются с учётом работы через системы NAT, однако, некоторые широко используемые протоколы (такие, как FTP, PPTP, RTSP, SIP) требуют специальной обработки при преобразовании адресов. Для поддержки работы абонентов, использующих эти протоколы, в EcoNAT реализована функциональность Application Layer Gateway (ALG).

Aging
При длительной неактивности (период зависит он настроек пула и состояния соединения) неиспользуемые соединения закрываются, высвобождая порты. Таким образом, возможна дополнительная экономия адресного пространства за счёт не очень активных абонентов.

User quotas
ЕсоNAT позволяет для каждого пула индивидуально устанавливать ограничения на количество портов и соединений для абонента. Вместе с горячей реконфигурацией и поддержкой множества пулов эта возможность позволяет оператору гибко распределять ресурсы IPv4 между корпоративными и частными абонентами.

Логирование трансляций
Устройства EcoNAT позволяют экспортировать информацию обо всех трансляциях и соединениях абонентов (Local_IP, Local_Port, Global_IP, Global_Port, Destination_IP, Destination_Port, Protocol), используя стандартные интерфейсы Syslog и Netflow v9. При применении механизма Port Block Allocation (PBA) объем экспортируемой информации снижается в десятки раз.

Управление
Устройства EcoNAT оснащены удобным интерфейсом командной строки (CLI), позволяющим производить изменения настроек устройства, работать со структурированным файлом конфигурации и просматривать параметры работы системы.

Для доступа к устройству используется выделенный управляющий сетевой интерфейс (доступ к устройству через SSH) или консольный порт (RS-232 °C). Идентификация пользователей устройства осуществляется локально или с использованием TACACS+.

Информация о состоянии оборудования доступна по протоколу SNMP (v1/v2c). Для экспорта системных сообщений и сообщения о событиях используются протоколы Syslog и SNMP Trap.

Технические спецификации

 EcoNAT 2020 / 2040EcoNAT 4080EcoNAT 4120EcoNAT 4160
Throughput (In+Out) 24 / 34 Gbps* 60 Gbps* 120 Gbps* 160 Gbps*
Connection Setups Per Second 2.3M 2.5M 5M 5M
Concurrent Sessions 32 million 40 million 150 million 150 million
Network Interface        
   10 GE Fiber (SFP+) 2 / 4 8 12 16
   1GE Copper 4 - - -
Logging Interface 2 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT
Management Interface 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT 1 x 10/100/1000BaseT
Console Port RJ45 (RS232C) RJ45 (RS232C) RJ45 (RS232C) RJ45 (RS232C)
System Storage CF Industrial SLC CF Industrial SLC CF Industrial SLC CF Industrial SLC
Power Consumption Typical/Max 140W/170W 250W/285W 340W/400W 340W/400W
Power Supply Dual 200W RPS Dual 500W RPS Dual 500W RPS Dual 500W RPS
  100-240 VAC (-36-72 DC) 100-240 VAC (-40-72 DC) 100-240 VAC (-40-72 DC) 100-240 VAC (-40-72 DC)
Cooling Fan Standard Fans Hot Swap Smart Fans Hot Swap Smart Fans Hot Swap Smart Fans
Dimensions 430mm x 400mm x 44mm 440mm x 576mm x 44mm 440mm x 576mm x 44mm 440mm x 576mm x 44mm
Rack Unit (Mountable) 1U 1U 1U 1U

* Пакетная производительность достаточна для работы «на скорости проводов» при среднем размере пакетов 480 байт.

Документы